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Types of Technicians

Percent by type of Child Passenger Safety Technician - 2017

mLE

m EMS/Fire
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Law Enforcement Techs

e 26% of our Tech base

 The Vermont Police Academy “oversees the
training and certification of state, county and
local law enforcement professionals in the State

of Vermont.” ! =




Child Passenger Safety: 2014 Citations
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Vermont Agency _of Transportation . Date: 07/23/2015
Age of Passenger - Injury and Seat Position
2014 Age of Passenger Information

Right Middle

Cycle Total
Injury Unknown  Passengers

Age 0 to 4 years

Fatali

Injury - Non-incapacitating
No injul

Untimely Death

Age 5 to 9 years
Injury - Incapacitating
Possible Injul

Unknown

Age 10 to 12 years

Fatali

Injury - Non-incapacitating
No injul

Untimely Death

Age 13 years
Injury - Incapacitati
Paossible Inju

Unknown




Survey to existing law enforcement

“Law enforcement knowledge and awareness of
appropriate car seat use.”

The survey was developed by the Child Passenger Safety (CPS) COIIN team
which includes:

— Tanya Wells, Injury Prevention Program Administrator, Vermont Department of
Health

— Sidney Bradley, CPS Program Coordinator, Vermont Department of Health
— Sgt. Tim Gould, Office of Professional Development, Vermont State Police
— Cpl. Jeffrey Fontaine, CPS Technician, Colchester Police Department

The survey was emailed out to all existing Vermont law enforcement via
Surveymonkey by the Vermont State Police Academy Director of Training.

The survey was open from October 14, 2016 — November 5, 2016.
We collected 105 responses.



s it legal to have RF car seat in front of
an active airbag?

m Yes

E No

Unsure




Is it appropriate for a 2 year old to ride
in @ booster seat?

m Yes

E No

Unsure




Who do you call if you have a question about a
car seat or the way a child is sitting in a vehicle?
(Open-Ended Response)

m Car seat technician
m Police
GHSP
m Specific person
Unsure
Hospital
m Sheriff's office
m Dept. of Health
m EMS
m Fire Dept
m Website
m Pediatrician
SafeKids
Vt Statute online
DMV
DCF




Next steps:

* Implement awareness courses for:

— Existing LE, to be offered by existing LE techs
around the state starting Spring 2017

— New LE, as part of post basic training starting
Spring 2017

e Recruit LE for full certification course

e Evaluate:
— knowledge and awareness pre/post
— Crash data and citation data
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